Gallery

Making Ears.

It was difficult to make the ears. I made several attempts and looked at a photo of my own ear. I thought about the ears of Buddah and how elongated they were. Apparently the elongation portrays a sign of wisdom.

I didn’t really want a direct link with Buddah in this way as although I have been told that the piece certainly has the same presence as say a Buddah statue, this is not what the piece is about.

The ears sit between realism, statue and spiritual forms, I feel.

I also had to let go of my controlling aspect of myself, who would like the ears to be more perfect and realistic. But as they work aesthetically, I thought it best to let go.

Leave a Reply

