Gallery

My foot!

The form is based around my own feet, this brings intimacy to the piece. Also in terms of form, I don’t have ‘elegant’ feet. I want to move away from stereotypes of women who only have ‘slender’ feet. The piece raises questions of my relationship with my own body and form. My skin is quite dark, compared to the perceived ideals and ideas of ‘beauty’ projected in Indian culture. Plus I am certainly not a size ‘zero’! So I hope this piece also quietly challenges the Western and Eastern ideals of female form.

Leave a Reply

