Relevence

Standard

Image

Photo by me.

Khanda arrangement by Sundeep Singh.

It has been an interesting few weeks. I did a talk in Canterbury at the University of Kent for the Sikh Society (29th of March 2012) about women and Sikhism. This was my second talk of this kind, the last was at Central Gudwara Manchester (26th March 2011). Through the talks and general discussions, it is becoming increasing apparent how relevant the issues surrounding women/girls that I researching. Some of the issues that affected me 10 years ago, also affect the youth (next generation) of today. I had an amazing discussion with a young women just this week about her experience of being a female in South Asian Punjabi culture. The parallels with her and my own experience was unbelievable. I also showed her my work in progress. Which was the first time any Sikh person has seen the work. It was good to get a positive response and I felt inspired that I was on the right track.

Leave a Reply

