Discoveries and developments.

Image

Sometimes one has to really listen to oneself. Its been an interesting few weeks and I have realised that doing weave is really not the best possible route for this MA. My true skills lay in conceptual sculpture. I have always been good at using my hands. From a very young age I did pottery and had my first exhibition at 16 in Germany. At BA level, I was drawn to conceptual-sculpture. The freedom of expression was key here. Although sometimes the sculptures I created were weird, but they also were intriguing and allowed me to connect with the more imaginative and freer sides of my psyche. The side not bound by conditioning or inhibition, cultural norms or responsibility. After years of trying to ignore this pull, it has found me once again.

‘The creation of something new is not accomplished by the intellect, but by the play instinct acting from inner necessity. The creative mind plays with the objects it loves’

(Carl. G. Jung, in The Artists Way: J. Cameron, 1995)

Leave a Reply

